Round Table Conferences

Sir John Simon recommended British Government to call a conference consisting of the representatives of both the British India as well as the Indian states so as to take a final decision on the issue of constitutional reforms for India and by a declaration of Lord Irwin Round Table Conference was called. The first session of the Round Table Conference began on 12th November 1930.The British Indian delegation comprised 58 members. Wellington succeeded Lord Irwin in Delhi on April 1931.Sir Samuel Hoare a leading conservative became secretary of state for India. The Congress had suspended civil disobedience movement but reiterated Poorna Swaraj as its ultimate political goal. The second session made recommendation that responsible government would be established immediately both at the center and in the provinces including complete control over finance, army, defense and external relations.

The third Round Table Conference was called on 17th November 1932.The Congress boycotted this. The British government on the basis of the discussion at the three sessions drafted its proposals for the reform of the Indian Constitution which were embodied in the white paper published in March 1933.The White Paper was examined and approved by a Joint Committee of the British Parliament and a bill based on the report of this committee was introduced and passed in the British Parliament as the Government of India Act 1935.